Stillness in Kyoto

The ultimate zen aspiration is stillness. This appeals to me. When I am still, I see things as they are. When I am churned, everything is confused. In such a state, how is it possible to take the right action?

When I visited Kyoto a year or so ago, I fell in love with the place, not least because it exudes everything zen. I took a picture at one of the zen temples that I look at many times a day. It is, to me, what my mind should be: so still that reality is reflected just as it is. Only from this stillness can rightful action emerge.

pond

About Archana

I'm Indian and Canadian, and many other countries in between. I read comics every morning and believe the world could do with slowing down.
This entry was posted in buddhism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment