Getting closer to nirvana

It was my birthday over the weekend, and despite having done it 41 times, and despite knowing that every other person on the planet has one too, it continues to feel like the most important day of the year, one that should be momentous not just for me, but also for you. And your friends. Plus your friends’ friends. And their friends. Really, everyone in the whole world should be happy because it’s my birthday.

This day, effectively, is a license to self-obsess. The more enlightened way to say it is that I’m becoming self-aware. So, towards making some good out of this dubious habit, here’s a short list of things I now know about myself. Maybe you’ll make your list on your birthday because, you know, you’ll probably be fascinated by how unparalleled in significance that day is. It’s kind of fun.

So, here’s my short list:

I like mangoes. I really, really like them. I didn’t always. One time I flapped my unflappable father, when i revealed my distaste for them. “Whaaaat?” He said, incredulously. As if it would help him hear better, he removed his glasses, polished them clean, and put them back on. Unfortunately for him, I was still standing in his line of vision, grimacing at the golden yellow fruit in my hand. “Mangoes are the king of fruits!” I still remember, he wanted to disown me. Now, I happily gorge on them. I wait for them, more than I ever waited by the telephone for that boy to call.

I chose to spend my birthday weekend with my parents. Yeah. I never saw that coming. I’m liking being in their company, even though I’m nothing like them. Or maybe it’s because of it. They provide unintended comic relief, and I know it goes both ways.

I’ve got regrets. They mostly have to do with how I made other people feel. I’M SORRRRRRRRYYYYYY!! Individual apologies will happen when the opportunity presents, since some of these folks live halfway around the world.

I’ve discovered the best jazz station in the world, Jazzfm91, which I listen to on the Internet. I feel like I’m in Toronto and I’ve got the best jazz belting out. The timing is kind of weird because they’re talking about morning commutes when I’m winding down for the day, but that’s okay. It’s still a treat.

I’d like to own a dog. I think I’ll be a better person. I like cats too, but I think a dog would be good. Or a baby cow. They’re so gentle, those eyes must be the most trusting eyes in the world. Any animal will do, actually. Their “what you see is what you get” disposition quite suits me.

See? I’m really getting to know myself. There’s lots more, but those discoveries will probably sound better next year, when I’ve given them 364 days to ripen and mature. For now, with these self-truths, I’m on my way to nirvana.

About Archana

I'm Indian and Canadian, and many other countries in between. I read comics every morning and believe the world could do with slowing down.
This entry was posted in Growing up global and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

