A crow’s balance

I stepped out of the salon, feeling beautiful, whole and at peace with the world.

I had just had a luxurious head massage. Warmed coconut oil caressed my scalp as it spread through my hair and embraced each strand. My masseur stroked my head gently, pressing at points to release stored up pools of tension. The nutty aroma of coconuts infused the air around me; I closed my eyes and surrendered.

Two hours later, soft, fresh waves of washed and blow-dried hair fell around my face. I tossed my head this way and that, just like in the hair ads, to relish the sensation. I felt free. The world made sense again. Everything was in its place, every strand was liberated to express its true nature.

Happily, I paid and left the salon. I turned right and stood under the cooling shade of a tree, enjoying the feeling of my long curls, behaving properly, sitting in their rightful place. Yes, all was right in the world. I looked good.

Hardly 20 seconds later, I felt a “plop” on the crown of my head. A crow had just relieved himself on me.

Such is the way of the world. Always in balance.

About Archana

I'm Indian and Canadian, and many other countries in between. I read comics every morning and believe the world could do with slowing down.
This entry was posted in beauty and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

