Chocolates for my birthday

I celebrated my birthday a few days ago, small town style.

Along with the gifts i received, I also got a Cadbury’s Dairy Milk chocolate bar. With each gift. I was amused, I don’t normally receive chocolates for my birthday, and when I do, they tend to be more esoteric, like chili-laced chocolates, or the more expensive kind which are affordable only for special occasions.

Holding the shiny, crinkly, royal purple pack in my hand, i tried to understand why I would be gifted these chocolates. My friends and family know that I don’t like milk chocolate (I’m a bit of a snob about this, actually, I only go for dark, of the 70% variety). And then I remembered Valentine’s Day, the other time I was gifted one of these CDMs, and it clicked.

Indians mark special, happy occasions with sweets. Used to be that laddoos and barfi were shoved into one’s mouth. It’s now chocolate bars, and specifically, CDM.

Kudos to the brand for carving such a deep relevance in Indian culture. Their long-running campaign, Kuchch Meetha Ho Jaye, had heart, and found its place in millions of Indian hearts. What a marker of success, to become a cultural artefact. Profound and impressive.

Thankfully, the chocolate bar was not shoved in my mouth.

About Archana

I'm Indian and Canadian, and many other countries in between. I read comics every morning and believe the world could do with slowing down.
This entry was posted in small town life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

