I just googled myself

I just googled myself. Okay, finally, I googled myself.

The thought has crossed my mind several times over the years, it’s not like it didn’t occur to me. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Call it an irrational fear, I was worried about what I might find. Or worse, not find. What if nothing showed up? What if I had made no impact on the world whatsoever? Equally depressing, what if there were some obscure links, which nobody cared about?

So, I lived in blissful ignorance. What I don’t know can’t hurt me, right? Yeah, that’s always a stupid strategy, including when it comes to what the world might be saying and thinking about you. It’s really not a good idea to be walking around as the only one who doesn’t know what she’s about, at least as far as Google is concerned.

While I knew this, what prompted me to actually do the deed was an article called “What 80% of employers do before inviting you for the interview”, by Susan Joyce, posted on Huffington Post. You guessed it, they google you. That pressed a panic bell in me because my professional persona actually matters to me, a lot. If not my impact on the world, I prayed to Lord Google, please, at least let a favorable picture of my professional achievements show up.

With that fervent prayer on my lips, I typed my name in the search toolbar. The rest is, well, history. Thank God. Thank Google.

About Archana

I'm Indian and Canadian, and many other countries in between. I read comics every morning and believe the world could do with slowing down.
This entry was posted in human behaviour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

