Morning rhythms

Waking up is more than the physical act of opening one’s eyes. That gets done in an instant. However, for a couple of hours after that, I’m still waking up. There’s research that shows we actually take around three hours to hit our stride. Isn’t that something? Three hours. Technically, I am off the hook till lunchtime.

I’d like this fact to be recognized by more people. It could contribute to world peace.

The way I look at it, the more people know it’s perfectly natural to be quiet and slow in the morning, the more we folks who are quiet and slow will be accepted by society at large, and subsequently, left alone for that little while to resurface into social environments at our own pace until we are ready to participate as full members. This would be particularly handy on weekends and holidays, when we are not regimented and don’t have to operate on auto-pilot.

On mornings that aren’t the precursor to a jam packed itinerary, you can expect the following from me:

I can’t put together a response to “how’d you sleep?” I don’t know how I slept. I’ll let you know when my thoughts have formed. Instead, you will be greeted by silence, as if I’m ignoring you (I’m not, I’m just incapable), or at best, I’ll manage to release an indecipherable, possibly rude-sounding grunt.

I don’t know what I want to do for the rest of the day.

I don’t have an opinion on what I would like for breakfast. Or whether I want tea or coffee.

I can’t tell you what’s wrong with me and why do I have to be such an antisocial and difficult person.

I believe people have rhythms to their mornings, and these rhythms are deeply individualized. Within a family of four, there can be four different paces of waking up. Which means, family chatter can happen in a staggered fashion, rather than all family members talking at the same time and coming alive on the same schedule. It means breakfast just might be an individual occasion, even on the day off. It means there is a gap between physically getting out of bed and emotionally reconnecting to those immediately around you and to the larger world.

So, if you are one of the types who wakes up bright and chirpy and cannot wait to get started on the long day ahead with your loved ones already, please know that we want to join the fun too. Just one request: give us till lunchtime.

About Archana

I'm Indian and Canadian, and many other countries in between. I read comics every morning and believe the world could do with slowing down.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morning rhythms

  1. Vishwanath says:

    Ha Ha Ha – Too Good – “Give us till lunchtime”

  2. Mmm, I like “Give us till lunchtime.” My natural morning rhythm is a slow wake-up process, though I do know what I want to eat for breakfast when I come downstairs: sometimes coffee and rice-with-soymilk-cinnamon-and-nutmeg, and sometimes rice-with-soymilk-cinnamon-and-nutmeg and coffee.Happy New Year, and thank you for following my blog.

Leave a Reply

